The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream Review

Standard

The lovely folk at The Body Shop Ireland gave me a sneak peek at their new All-In-One Make-Up range, which they are launching August 30th. This includes a new range of colours in the amazing Face Base Range, as well as new concealers and blushers, but most importantly their brand new BB Cream.

For those of you who still aren’t sure what exactly a BB cream is, it stands for “Blemish Balm”, although due to copyright reasons it is also widely known as a “Beauty Balm” – this is due to its “multi-tasking” all-in-one properties – moisturiser, primer, foundation and sunblock. It has been a huge part of the Asian cosmetics market for years, and is gradually making it’s way over to the Western market!

Before I introduce you to The Body Shop BB Cream, have a read of what they have to say about it!

“Meet our new All-In-One BB Cream… and prepare to be transformed!
Introducing All-In-One BB Cream, the star of our All-In-One Make-Up range. A masterpiece of make-up and skincare, All-In-One BB Cream possessed a lightweight formula that provides 24hr hydration and colour-adapts for a perfect match and a smooth, undetectable finish It’s make-up and skincare in one!

The secret? Our innovative formula features pigment filled capsules that burst when applied to skin, releasing the colour inside. Just blend one of our three shades for a perfect match to your exact skin tone. With light, medium and dark skintones, you’re guaranteed to find an All-In-One BB Cream that suits you”.

So there you have it! Sounds too good to be true doesn’t it? Well I can honestly say after trying it that it totally lives up to everything it claims to be! I’ve never really been sold on a product that claims it can colour adapt to your skin, so imagine my surprise when I squeezed it on to the back of my hand and the product came out white!
As I rubbed the cream in to my hand the colour changed quickly, as it turns out “the innovative formula”, in fact features pigment filled capsules that burst when applied to the skin, releasing the colour inside. How clever is that?

The product comes in numbers 1,2 and 3 and I tested the number 2 on the back of my hand, as well as applying it to my whole face. The skin on my hand is obviously darker than on my face, but the colour adapted perfectly to the colour of my hand AND perfectly to the colour of my face. I actually can’t get over how clever this product is!
And so, before my very eyes I could see the colour eventually changing until I was left with a perfect match to the skin tone of my hand, and I would also like to point out that the coverage is absolutely excellent, as you can see in the picture below.
So those are the swatches on my hand, though I’m sure you’re all wondering how it looked on my face!

I have very oily skin and I cleansed and toned before applying the BB Cream, you don’t need to apply moisturiser or primer before the BB Cream, as it is all in one, and it really did look amazing on my skin. The coverage is medium, so you could apply a concealer to any areas of redness or blemishes before you put it on and be left with a pretty good coverage for the day. However, as I said, I have oily skin and I rave about the benefits of a translucent powder, so I did apply my translucent powder around half an hour after applying the BB Cream to prevent shine, and honestly I loved how it made my skin look and feel. It also lasted all day long. The ONLY complaint I have about the new BB cream is the lack of SPF. But hopefully The Body Shop will look in to this for future reference.
I am definitely going to purchase the no.2 BB Cream on Thursday, as I had been searching high and low for a product I liked that was less high maintenance and more natural than my current foundation (MAC studio fix) for every day wear. The Body Shop BB cream satisfies this perfectly!

Have any of you tried a BB Cream that you really like? Any recommendations?

Jazz

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

